Purple is My New Fave.

7 Dec

So the other day, I mentioned how our friend made us a fancy 3 course French meal….well, this friend is also a huge culinary buff, (I know, stating the obvious).  He tends to have expensive taste, though, so I’ve never tried any of his recommended restaurants.  There was once place he recommended that I could never forget about that I actually wanted to try.  He always raved about this Japanese restaurant in San Francisco called Murasaki, which means purple in Japanese.  Over our special 3 course meal, my friend mentioned how the sushi chef there may retire.  As soon as those words left his mouth, I knew I had to eat there ASAP before this happened!  Two weeks later, I went there with my mother and Normakins.

10

We got a few appetizers and split the Omakase, which means chef’s recommendations.  The Omakase is an assortment of 7 dishes the chef will put together based on whatever is fresh in his inventory.  It usually consists of a salad, something fried, an appetizer, and entrée, sashimi, and sushi.  In our case, the chef presented to us the following: crab salad, tara no kasuzuke (grilled cod marinated in sake lees), fried oysters, raw oysters, chawanmushi (egg custard with seafood), assorted sashimi, and a plate of beautiful nigiri.

Below is the nigiri plate he made for us, (sorry, I forgot to take pictures of everything else).  As you can see, the fish was extremely fresh, everything was meticulously prepared, and he even gave us two pieces of otoro, which alone, costs about $15-20!  Oh, we also had a piece of amaebi which was sooooooooo sweet and creamy!  And, they fried the amaebi head for us, just like they do in Japan!

I have to say this place is effin amazing! The sashimi was fresh and impressive, the sushi rice was perfectly seasoned, what’s not to like? Although we didn’t order a proper entrée, surprisingly, the omakase was enough to fill us up. We all enjoyed it that we went back the following weekend to take my grandmother for her birthday and ordered 3 omakase’s for 5 people.  Murasaki definitely made its way close to the top of my list for best sushi spots in city.

Leave a Reply

