Local (kinda) Bites

27 Jul

I went to Vacaville the other day for a Baby Shower.  On the way home, me and my mom coaxed the boyfriend to stop over at Fenton’s for some ice cream.  Now, for those of you who aren’t familiar with this place, it’s by far, one of the best old-school ice cream joints around.  They originated in Oakland, but built a second location in Vacaville.  Maybe you recognize the name from this….

I love this place because it reminds me of stories my father would tell me about when he was younger.  He would spend time at soda fountains and drag race in the streets a’la American Graffiti, so I have a soft spot for this place.  They also have delicious Toasted Almond flavored ice cream.  I don’t even know how to possibly describe the flavor, other than it really does in fact taste like toasted almonds and is to die for.  Their fudge and caramel sauce is also homemade!

Needless to say, we split this godzilla sized funday sundae among the three of us, and we still couldn’t finish it!  Hope this post made you drool!  I’m hankering for some toasted almond ice cream now!

2 Responses to “Local (kinda) Bites”

  1. Minimumday July 27, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    I want to go there!

    • uhohitstams July 30, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      You should! Come to San Francisco soon!

Leave a Reply

