Plushy Plums

23 Jul

My coworker has a plum tree that produced more plums than she could possibly eat.  She was so kind and  gave me a bag full but told me to eat them quickly because they were extremely ripe (and super sweet for plums).  I told her I can try to make plum pudding or something.  But, she said, “if you’re going to cook with it, make me a German plum-cake.”  I never had a German plum-cake before so she explained the texture, etc to me.  Apparently, the cake is denser and not very cake-like, but rather, almost like a scone.  Then there is a layer of plums, topped with a strudel like crumble.  So I went and googled away to see if I can find something remotely close.  I found the recipe below, and needless to say, she loved it.  Oh, and the plum-cake went really well with this wine.  I guess the bitter/sour flavors of the plum’s skins paired well with the tannins in the wine!  mui delicioso.

German Plum Cake

(aka Zwetschgendatschi, its Bavarian name)

Ingredients:
1/4 lb butter
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 tablespoon sour cream
1 pinch of salt
1 tsp lemon rinds (but I didn’t have lemons on hand so didn’t use them, I think it’s better without since plum skins are sour and bitter already)
1 3/4 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
2 cups of plums, pitted and sliced into thin wedges
For the Crumble Topping:
6 tbsp butter
3/4 cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
 
Directions:
Preheat your oven to 375.
In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar.  Add vanilla, egg, lemon rind, sour cream, and salt.
Mix the flour and baking powder and add that into the creamed wet ingredients mixture.
Grease a round baking pan and spread the dough over the pan.  The dough is a bit dense so you kind of have to press it out to spread it throughout the pan.
Drop the plums over the dough and spread them out.
Make the topping by creaming the butter and sugar and adding the flour and cinnamon to it.
Sprinkle the topping over the plums.
Bake for 30-45 minutes, when the crumble starts to look golden.

You can serve it with whipped cream, or with a sprinkle of run, or cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

