Pickled Pickles?

13 Jul

Funny thing happened the other day.  The boyfriend and I were grocery shopping when we passed some cucumbers labeled as pickles.  He said, “These aren’t pickles, they’re just cucumbers.”  I had to explain to him, “Honey, pickles are pickled cucumbers.” to which he replied back with “pshooo, my mind has been BLOWN!”

I thought that was the funniest thing ever.  After this brief conversation about pickles, I thought we should do an experiment and make our own pickles!  My boss gave me his special pickle recipe that I’d like to share with you.

Ingredients:
1/3 cup white vinegar
1 cup water
1 tbsp salt
1 head of garlic (1 whole garlic)
A nice bunch of dill
Small handful of white & black pepper and coriander seed
4-6 fresh Thai chilies
*celery seed (optional)
 
Instructions:
Cover cucumbers with above.  Keep refrigerated.  The pickles will be ready to eat as soon as 2 days.  You can always keep the juice and add more cucumbers to it to keep pickling.
 

I didn’t have coriander seed so I went without it, and I didn’t have fresh dill either.  I used dried dill instead.  I would suggest using fresh dill or double the amount called for dill if you’re using dry dill.  And make sure to use coriander seed.  Our pickles were very pickled but was lacking a bit in flavor.  The beauty of pickles though, is that I can always alter the taste, add more chilies, dill, coriander, etc, but the base stays the same!  I ended up adding a few more chilies.  My mom said she’ll give me a huge jar so I can more!

3 Responses to “Pickled Pickles?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peter Piper Picked a Peck of Pickled Cucumbers | The Garden Diaries - July 16, 2012

    […] Pickled Pickles? (kitchenmischiefs.wordpress.com) […]

  2. We Can Pickle That! | Mark My Words… - July 23, 2012

    […] Pickled Pickles? (kitchenmischiefs.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Crunchy Sweet Freezer Pickles | Lil' Suburban Homestead - August 8, 2012

    […] Pickled Pickles? (kitchenmischiefs.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

