Soup’s On.

2 Jul

The other day, I decided I really wanted some homemade soup so I took a half eaten rotisserie chicken from Costco, ripped off good pieces of meat and saved it for a salad topper.  Then took the carcass to make some chicken stock.

For chicken stock, I always use the same ingredients: onions, garlic, the inner parts of celery (with leaves), and salt & pepper to taste.  I leave this and the carcass to simmer slowly for at least an hour.  I don’t really like chicken skin, but I leave it on while the chicken is simmering to get good flavor out of the skin, then I take out the carcass and pull of whatever meat was left on.

My grandmother used to make this particular soup for me.  It’s ingredients are like a minestrone but without pasta and beans and it tastes completely different.  It doesn’t really have a name,  but I distinctly remember the flavor.  Since I’ve been dating the boyfriend I started to cook more often and would make him soup when he’s sick or on cold days.  But he’s really particular about soups.  Norman doesn’t like soupy soups. (I know, weird right?) He likes thick, almost like stew soups.  So, I taken her rendition of the soup, and bulked it up a bit.  Given the fact that I don’t have the recipe from my grandmother (I don’t know why I never bothered to ask), I think I duplicated her soup fairly well.

Here’s how to make this soup.  Let’s call it “Bachan’s Bulked Chicken Tomato Soup.”  (Bachan means grandmother in Japanese).

Ingredients:
Homemade chicken stock (with chicken pieces)
2 large, thick carrots, cut about 1/2 thick
1 Celery (use only the inner heart parts, about 4-5 stalks)
5 yellow potatoes, cut about 1″ thick
green beans (optional)
1 tbsp oregano
1 tsp italian seasoning
3-4 bay leaves (I used leaves from my mom’s friends tree so they’re a little smaller)
salt
pepper
1 can of italian seasoned crushed tomatoes
 
Instructions:
From the pot where you made stock in, remove the carcass and place in a bowl to cool.
Add carrots and potatoes, wait for those to cook almost completely through, then add celery and green beans.  (If I’m pressed for time, I’ll precook the potatoes and carrots in the microwave before adding them to the soup).
While the veggies are cooking in the stock, take the carcass and remove all of the meat from it.  Add the meat to the soup.
Lastly, add all your spices except for the salt & pepper.
Add the canned tomatoes.  Mix it around and let the flavors marry.  Then taste and add salt & pepper if you feel it’s needed.
 

This time round when I made it, I didn’t add the canned tomatoes and it still came out delicious but it almost felt like a completely different soup.  Oh, and blueberry beer goes very well with it. (^.-)

If I don’t have homemade chicken stock or a chicken carcass on hand, I’ll use store-bought stock and add 2-3 chicken thighs.  Slow cook the thighs in the pot of stock and water, then set aside to peel the meat off while the veggies are cooking, just like above.

8 Responses to “Soup’s On.”

  1. bonnie July 3, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    I love COSTCO’s roast chicken, I used the carcass and skins to make stock too, but I do not add any seasoning because I like to freeze the stock and used it for satay veggies, curry,Japanese noodles and soup too.You can peel off the meats and freeze it so when you are ready to cook something you will always have cook chicken in hand.
    well talking food made me hungry, I may start my dinner.

    • uhohitstams July 5, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      Bonnie, that’s such a smart thing to do. Does chicken freeze well? My mother does the same thing. I learned about using the COSTCO chicken to make stock from her. She’s such a smart woman. : )

  2. abuchon July 3, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    This looks and sounds very good. You’re making me crave soup.

    • uhohitstams July 5, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      hahaha, thanks abuchon! It was delicious. I just finished the last of it yesterday.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The great chicken plan « Cheap, easy, delicious - July 10, 2012

    […] Soup’s On. (kitchenmischiefs.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Speedy Broccoli Soup « From the Hobbit Hole Kitchen - July 13, 2012

    […] Soup’s On. (kitchenmischiefs.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Chicken and pear soup | LIVE GREAT FOOD BLOG - August 7, 2012

    […] Soup’s On. (kitchenmischiefs.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Good Soup, Good Karma « kitchen mischiefs - December 10, 2012

    […] I decided to use the chicken carcass I always seem to have on hand and make some soup. Veering from my usual soup that I always make, I decided to change things up, as Normalicious suggested, so I made an Asian […]

Leave a Reply

