America’s Favorite Pastime Plus Salty Sweet Cookies!

14 Jun

My dad was nice enough to give my brother tickets to last Friday’s Giants game.  My pops gets tickets from his friend who is a season-ticket-holder and the seats are right behind the Giant’s dugout!  I’m not much of a baseball fan but I admit, games are fun when you’re actually there, plus, I like to look at the players’ tushies!  I love their tight pants ; P.

In San Francisco, a Giant’s game is not complete without the following: (1) beer, (2) clam chowder in a sourdough bread bowl, (3) hot chocolate, and (4) good company.

I knew the boyfriend was going to be busy all weekend with the 48 hour film project so I decided to make salted caramel cookie cups for him and his friends to snack on.  I found the recipe on Easy Baked’s blog and I’ve been wanting to try this for a really long time mainly because I love caramel & chocolate (who doesn’t?) and it’s super quick and easy to make!

Salted Caramel Cookie Cups! *drool*

Ingredients:
2 cups of crushed pretzel rods (I used Synder’s Honey Whole Wheat pretzel rods)
1 tube of refrigerated sugar cookie dough (I used half of a Tollhouse 32 oz tub of choco-chip cookie dough)
6 ounces (1/2 bag) of Wilton Dark Candy Cocoa Melts (I only used about a quarter of the bag)
 
Directions:
Using your hands, knead 1 cup of pretzel crumbs into cookie dough.
Form into 12 balls and place into a greased muffin tin.
Ba at 350 degrees for 16 minutes.
Remove from oven and press centers into a cup using a mini-tart shaper or the end of a wooden spoon.  Allow these to cool completely.  When cool, gently run a knife around edges and remove from pan. 
Melt candy melts in the microwave in 30 second increments until smooth. (I did 15 seconds)
Dip top edges of cookie cups into melted chocolate and then into remaining crushed pretzels. Pipe any remaining chocolate into the bottom of each cup.  Allow this to harden while you make your caramel.
 
I used milk chocolate so it looks lighter. I know it looks like caramel in this picture, but it’s chocolate.
 
Caramel Sauce:
save time and make the caramel sauce while the cookies are baking!
32 Kraft caramels (unwrapped) (only used 28)
1/2 c. butter
1 (14 oz.) can of sweetened condensed milk
 
Place unwrapped caramels, butter and condensed milk into a saucepan and heat until completely melted. Stir this constantly to prevent scorching.  Spoon into the cookie cups. 
 

The caramel recipe makes more than twice the amount needed for the cookies.  That’s why I got a huge tub of cookie dough, I plan on making another batch of these babies sometime this week. l(^v^)l    Any extra caramel sauce left over from that is going towards my dad’s cobbler for Father’s day!

EasyBaked topped the cookies with more chocolate but since I used chocolate chip cookie dough instead of sugar cookies, I figured there was enough chocolate and sweetness in these cookie cups so I topped with a sprinkle of sea salt.

Happy eatings!

9 Responses to “America’s Favorite Pastime Plus Salty Sweet Cookies!”

  1. Serious Black June 14, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    You forgot to mention Garlic Fries!! )-:<

    • uhohitstams June 14, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      I was going to get garlic fries but I was full from the beer. But you’re very right, garlic fries are a must at a Giant’s game.

  2. Minimumday June 14, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    Cookies look yummy. It’s making me hungry. I also wants some garlic fries!!! You gonna make me fat…

    • uhohitstams June 14, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      o0o0, i’m planning on making more today too! I want garlic fries too. *drool*

  3. uhohitstams June 14, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Thank you for the comments! I love knowing what’s on your minds when you read these posts! Happy eatings! nom nom noms.

  4. bonnie June 15, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    Woo!! Caramel,I love caramel.Sweet and salt. You hit the right note girl!!

    • uhohitstams June 15, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      Thanks! Men, take note, sweet & salt or salty sweets make many women happy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Salted Caramel Cookie Cups « eASYbAKED - June 14, 2012

    […] I love it when readers try a recipe and share their process (changes and all!)- here’s Kitchen Mischiefs  with her version of these cups using chocolate chip cookie dough—YUM! Share […]

  2. Mama Likes Her Chocolate « kitchen mischiefs - June 21, 2012

    […] mom really liked the salted caramel cookie cups that I posted last week, so I thought I would make her favorite food: chocolate! She […]

Leave a Reply

