The Brother, Some Quinoa, and Tabbouleh.

11 Jun

Lately, I have been eating out way too much, and when I eat out, I usually eat unhealthy.  I blame this on my brother.  He’s back visiting the family after working a year abroad, and he’s staying at my place.  He rarely eats leftovers and loves to eat out so, the day before, he was nice enough to treat us to Indian curry.  It was magnificently delicious but I was in carbo-land (hellooo naan & rice).  I love bread, rice, and pastas, but bread makes you fat…

So, in an effort to be more healthy I started eating more whole grains this year.  I wanted to cook something healthy but filling for dinner the other day and decided to make quinoa tabbouleh, two words my brother has never heard before.  I stumbled upon this recipe as I was scouring Amateur Gourmet’s blog.  His Quinoa Tabbouleh was a great success!  It was zesty, light, refreshing and filling!  My brother had a small bowl at first, got seconds, and finished it all up!

Like Amateur Gourmet, I doubled the recipe because I wanted leftovers for the boyfriend to have for his busy weekend.  That way, he can have something healthy to nosh on if he gets hungry, rather than pizza, although I did bake them some cookies too ; ).  That will be in another post.  He and some friends were working this weekend to create a short film for the 48 Hour Film Project.

Below are my modifications to the recipe.

Quinoa:
(I used red quinoa since we already had it at home from Trader Joe’s)
Make 2 cups of quinoa in a rice cooker. 
(Cook just like rice but add just a bit less water than you normally would)
While the quinoa is cooking, prepare the dressing and veggies.
 
Dressing:
2 cloves of garlic (I used 2 cubes of TJ’s frozen crushed garlic)
2 tbs fresh lemon juice (I used 1.5 lemons)
1/2 cup EVOO
salt & pepper to taste
 
Accoutrements:
1 large English hot-house cucumber or 2 Persian cucumbers, cut into 1/4″ pieces (I used the pickling variety of cucumbers, 2)
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
2/3 cup chopped flat leaf parsley
1/2 cup chopped fresh mint (I used just about the same amount as parsley)
2 scallions thinly sliced
  • Once the quinoa is done cooking, place quinoa out on a baking sheet and fluff and cool.  (I added the dressing while the quinoa was hot so it can soak up all that citrus goodness.  Then, I placed it in the fridge to cool off)
  • once it’s cooled a bit, add the vegetables, scallions, and herbs.  Mix.
  • Serve up or fridge longer if you like it colder.

 and VOILA!  Tabbouleh!

5 Responses to “The Brother, Some Quinoa, and Tabbouleh.”

  1. abuchon June 26, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    I just made some quinoa tabbouleh last weekend. Definitely a great salad for summer. 🙂

    • uhohitstams June 26, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

      ooh! Yay! Did you use this recipe or a different one? Where your from a cold filling dish must be fititng for a hot afternoon.

      • abuchon June 26, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

        I found the recipe on epicurious.com before I discovered your blog. That’s why when I saw your post I thought how cool that someone else made quinoa tabbouleh, too!

      • uhohitstams June 27, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

        wow! What are the odds. I thought quinoa tabbouleh was unusual, but quinoa is slowly becoming a very popular healthy grain. Flax see is on the rise too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All righty then… | Persimmon Frost - June 13, 2012

    […] The Brother, Some Quinoa, and Tabbouleh. […]

Leave a Reply

