Two Sides of the Same Coin

18 Jun

My friend’s birthday was last weekend and I asked her what she would like me to bake for her.  She requested peach cobbler!  I’ve never made cobbler before and was pretty nervous about it, so all week, I scoured the internet looking for a delicious but simple recipe.  I found tons of simple recipes but I was surprised that none of them called for spices.  Sure, I wanted simple, but I wanted it to be tasty as well.  I finally found  a simple recipe that included spices.  Behold the Southern Style Spiced Peach Cobbler!  I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of a few extra pinches of cinnamon and nutmeg.

The cobbler filling came out tasty, although I had trouble getting a smooth consistency with the cornstarch.  I mixed and mixed and mixed, but it just came out  a little globby.  I would say this recipe is a success except for one major thing: the batter.  It was thick and had the consistency of biscuits.  I was hoping for something more like pie crust or similar.  You know, crispy but moist and gooey where it meets the filling.  I was pretty disappointed in the cobbler because of this.  My friend said she really liked it, but I know she was being really nice.  Even I didn’t like it.  The biscuity batter ruined it.  She explained to me that her mom makes the  batter runny and pours it over the filing, then bakes it.  It’s supposed to fill any nooks and crannies between the peaches.  I decide I was going to make another cobbler attempt for Father’s Day.

I kept the same filling recipe and added more nutmeg and cinnamon again, but with a slight modification.  My father is a diabetic, so I substituted sugar in the original recipe with Splenda.  Below, you can see the original filling recipe in black and the mods and notes for the nearly-sugar-free filling in blue.

My friend found this recipe that had that runny batter she was talking about.  I used the batter from this recipe, and the filling from the previous recipe to make my father his sugar-free cobbler.  See below for my notes and mods for the sugar-free batter.

We went out to brunch and bowling for Father’s Day, which was uber fun and my dad had a blast!  We didn’t get to cut into the cobbler until 7 hours later so it didn’t have that just-out-of-the-oven-warm-goodness, but my dad still loved the cobbler.  He had 3 helpings!  I reheated it slightly in the microwave before serving it and topped it with whipped cream.

Still, the batter wasn’t quite like pie crust consistency, but it was fluffy and light, and went well with the filling!  I’m still on a hunt to make a good cobbler batter!  If you have any cobbler batter recipes send them my way!

Nearly-Sugar-Free Peach Cobbler Filling
1 large can (29 ounces) sliced peaches in light syrup
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar (use Splenda instead.  I used 1/4 cup but it came out pretty sweet.  I think half of that would be best.)
juice of 1 lemon
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (plus a few extra pinches)
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg (plus a few extra pinches)
pinch salt
1 tablespoon butter
2 tablespoons cornstarch
 
Nearly-Sugar-Free Cobbler Batter
¾ cup flour
¾ cup sugar (use Splenda instead)
¾ cup milk
2 teaspoons baking powder
pinch of salt
NOTE: Don’t use self-rising flour, it’ll rise too much if mixed with baking powder.
3 Responses to “Two Sides of the Same Coin”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How To Make Healthy Summer Pies « jovinacooksitalian - June 22, 2012

    […] Two Sides of the Same Coin (kitchenmischiefs.wordpress.com) […]

  2. (Practically No Sugar) Peach and Blueberry Cobbler « Bringing Europe Home - June 22, 2012

    […] Two Sides of the Same Coin (kitchenmischiefs.wordpress.com) Share this: Pin ItLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  3. Peachy Keen | Em's on the road - July 6, 2012

    […] Two Sides of the Same Coin (kitchenmischiefs.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

